Pokemon Go Kanto Cup Full Guide – Best ‘Mon, Rules, and More

Sure, Pokemon Go is cute, fun, and lovely, but if you really have a taste for competition, the Kanto Cup is the best! 

This unique competition brings trainers into the scene and allows them to max their teams and flex their skills. We’ve compiled a list with some of the best tips and tricks, best ‘mon, CP limit, and, of course, rules.

Here is what you need to know.

Kanto Cup’s Release Date

The new Kanto Cup is available from May 24 (1 PM PST/ 4 PM EST/ 8 PM BST) to May 31 (1 PM PST/ 4 PM EST/ 8 PM BST).

This season the competition will be unranked so that you can be more creative and use some new strategies and tactics. How cool is that?

Kanto Cup’s Rules

The Kanto Cup features the original Gen 1 Pokemon and comes with a special set of rules, as follows:

  1. Only ‘mon with a Pokedex number from 1 to 51 can participate;
  2. Alolan is accepted. 

Remember that the competition can be pretty tough, and playing by the rules is the only way you can prove your skills.

Kanto Cup’s CP Limit

CP or Combat Power is a way that Pokemon Go ensures that all trainers enter the tournament on an even playing scene. 

The new CP Limit is 1,500 CP. So make sure all your ‘mon are under that limit!

Best Pokemon 

Entering a competition without checking up the best options would be such a wrong move, right? Luckily, we’ve got you covered and made a list with the greatest Pokemon to use in the Kanto Cup.

Charizard: Dragon Breath + Dragon Claw

Wigglytuff: Charm + Ice Beam

Alolan Sandlash: Powder Snow + Bulldoze

Hypno: Fire Punch + Psychic

Mew: Shadow Claw + Wild Charge

Alolan Marowak: Hex + Shadow Bone

Battle League Tips & Tricks

Trying to be the best and working your way up the Battle League isn’t going to be easy at all. However, there are some tips and tricks that you might want to use:

  • Create a well-balanced squad;
  • Watch the meta;
  • Tap fast;
  • Hold onto your Charge Moves;
  • Wisely power up your stats.

That’s all from now, but we’ll sure come back soon with more exciting Pokemon Go tips and tricks, news, and more!

Georgia Nica
Writing was, and still is, my first passion. I love all that cool stuff about science and technology. I’ll try my best to bring you the latest news every day.