As the owner of the leading search engine, a significant email provider, and one of the most popular and widely used sites on the web, Google is among the largest corporations in the world.
They have a vast user base all over the world and have been at the center of the internet for many years.
Google maintains many technical foundations and runs a really tight ship to guarantee that it can continue to be feasible, even if not every initiative has been a resounding success.
All things considered, Google is taking steps to do something that might be rather disastrous.
Google may be preparing to remove millions of outdated YouTube videos!
According to a Google announcement, if an account hasn’t been used for more than two years, it will be deleted along with its information.
According to Google, if an account is inactive and the company decides it should be deleted, it may also delete any connected content, including “everything within Google Workspace (Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar), YouTube, and Google Photos.”
Users will receive plenty of warnings via emails or other alerts before this procedure starts in December of this year.
The business also intends to implement it in stages, beginning with accounts that were initially created but were never actually utilized.
Users just need to sign into their accounts and conduct a Google search, view a YouTube video, or read/send an email to prevent potentially being affected by this measure.
There may be content from accounts held by individuals who have passed away, ceased producing content, or lost logins to their accounts, despite the fact that Google appears to be giving users some time to find a workaround.
Large and small amounts of lost content on YouTube may be the outcome of this.
Google aims to take this action to prevent inactive accounts from being used to scam or phish since they are more likely to be hacked, but many who view this as a preservation problem are still very much concerned.